Tax and Duty Free Shopping

Duty Free

'Duty Free' means that no excise duty is applicable and as such payable to the Government (HM Revenue & Customs) on the relevant items purchased. Items which are classed as 'Duty Free' must be exported in tact outside of the European Union (EU) and therefore are only sold to passengers flying to non-EU countries.

This 'duty free' status applies to all cigarettes and tobacco, plus selected spirits (these are clearly marked in-store).

'Available to All' prices

All products which are not classifed as 'duty free' are 'available to all' passengers for purchase regardless of destination - this includes the UK, EU and non-EU countries. These products are available in all our stores within the Departure Lounge after security.

Typically the price of these products is equivalent to the selling price prior to the addition of VAT (Value Added Tax), currently 20%. This is commonly referred to as 'tax free' by many passengers.

If the passenger is flying within the UK or EU the applicable VAT will be accounted for to HM Revenue & Customs by World Duty Free on behalf of the customer. Because the VAT is fully accounted for typically there are no limits to the amount that can be purchased (for personal use) by those passengers flying within the UK or EU.

Typical categories which are sold at equivalent VAT free prices include: fragrance, skincare, cosmetics, sunglasses, watches, jewellery and handbags. In addition to these categories World Duty Free also offers a wide range of spirits, wine & Champagne which are also 'available to all' travellers. Where these products are purchased by a customer flying within the EU or UK both VAT and any applicable duty are accounted for to HM Revenue & Customs by World Duty Free. If the passenger is flying outside the EU no tax or duty is applicable to HM Revenue & Customs.

Which countries are part of the European Union?

The EU includes the following 27 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain (including the Balearic Islands - Mallorca, Ibiza and Menorca), Sweden, the Netherlands, the UK.

There are a number of other islands or territories which, despite being within the 'footprint' of the EU, or being sovereign states of those 27 members of the EU, are not within the tax territory of the EU. This means that whenever you are flying to those countries/areas listed below, you can buy relevant goods at 'Duty Free' prices.

The primary destinations are: The Canary Islands - Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, Fuerteventura (these are part of Spain), the Channel Islands - Jersey & Guernsey and Gibraltar (these are part of the UK).